Fav. Tracks: The Norman Haines Band – Den of Iniquity

NormanHaynesBandDen of Iniquity – Finding My Way Home.

Now here is an album you won’t come across too often (especially in vinyl, as this one of ours is).  This dates way back to 1971 and was produced by Norman Haines as a short-lived band  spin-off from Locomotive.  He has associations with Black Sabbath and with Stevie Winwood, so this is 1970s rock music at its best.

I have picked this track as it is very different to the rest of the album and strikes more of an affinity to progressive rock.  I like the introduction with the drums and slightly fuzzy guitar.  The lyrics are easy to listen to and strike a chord for me, from this era.  This should be a real collectors item, maybe it is I don’t know!

Fav. Tracks: Uriah Heep – Demons and Wizards

img_1_pr[1]Demons and Wizards – Circle of Hands.

This is a vinyl album of ours, which goes way back to the early 1970s.  I remember,at the time, thinking that Uriah Heep were a really heavy rock band, but this album showed me there were much more of a progressive rock band and produced some interesting sounds for the time.  The album has some good riffs on it and several really good track for anyone interested in music from the 70s.

This track starts with a prolonged introduction on the organ, which seems to try to set a mystic air, but this is then broken by the drums and guitar that develop the main beat of the track as a typical rock sound.  What is also good about this track is that it illustrates the voice of David Byron, who has  a very distinctive sound.  The lyrics are typical of the genre, with some confusion, the occasional inspirational phrase, but overall tell something of a story!

The 32nd TOFC Meeting, a return to Havant

old_house_at_homeFor the March meeting of The Old Fart’s Club, we returned to the The Old House at Home in Havant.  Our last visit was September 2011 – the time seems to have zoomed by – so this was another worthwhile repeat journey!  Since then our numbers have grown significantly and I was expecting a large turn out, which made it important that we inform the pub owner and book a table.  As it turned out we booked for 16 and 15 turned up, so quite a good situation.

The_Old_House_at_Home__016As I mentioned in my last blog about this pub, this is a wonderful location in a really old, traditional place dating back to the 16th century.  We were seated just around from this end of the bar, in a corner under thick oak beams, which was comfortable and spacious enough for us; although, we were spread across three tables, one of which was separated from the main group (the early arrivees).  Despite this  everyone seemed happy with the location and the atmosphere in the pub is both friendly and welcoming.

The food was very good, but is quite expensive for a lunch.  However, as well as the main menu, there is also a sandwich menu, which may suit others better.  After a short wait (not surprisingly for the numbers being served) the food arrived quickly and everyone seemed to get their meal (there may have been a slight delay for one person).  The beers were typical gales brewery ales (HSB in my case) that are now available in all Fullers pubs and they were well-kept, once again.

There was much discussion of what I had done to my thumb when  first arrived, so just to keep everyone up to date, I had a mucosal cyst removed on Thursday last and my thumb is out of action for a few weeks – it developed above an arthritic joint and kept getting infected, so I was keen to get rid of it.  There was some concern after the operation when the nurse said I couldn’t drink for 24 hours, but it was only 10:30 in the morning so I was alright for TOFC!
Everyone seemed to have a good time, with conversation ranging from the beef/horse saga to the fact it was St. David’s day!  So another success for the group and contacts seem to be encouraged by these events.  I look forward to the next one!

Fav. Tracks: Stevie Wonder – Definitive Collection

f51673fzdi2Definitive Collection – Ebony and Ivory.

What can I say about Stevie Wonder that has not already been said?  He has made such a major contribution to popular music that I can neither ignore his music or attempt to explain his popularity!

This track is probably not the most popular, but it is one of my favourites – not least because of the lyrics – but for me it is the simple tune that captures both the styles of Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder in one song.  Nothing else to say, the song says it all.