Fav. Tracks: Queen – Greatest Hits Vol.1

B000024A70_01_LZZZZZZZGreatest Hits Vol.1 – Bohemian Rhapsody.

Another band that I never got around to buying any albums for and so I have their Greatest hits album.

this track is one of the most discussed, played and listened to tracks in rock music and many people’s favourite – I am no exception.  However, I get confused by the level of debate about the context of the lyrics and I wonder if I am the only person who sees a story about AIDS and Mercury’s life?  The first time I heard this song I was fascinated by the changes of musical style, rhythm and context, but I always thought this song was semi autobiographical and that references to “killing a man” might be about HIV and that “nothing really matters” seems to have a similar context (well to me).  Still, all of that aside, what a great price of rock music that explores all aspects of both rock and progressive rock styles!

Leave a comment