Fav. Tracks: Bix Beiderbecke – Great Original Performances: 1924-1930

alb_148045_bigGreat Original Performances: 1924-1930 – Clarinet Marmalade (not from this album).

Does anyone remember a TV series in the mid eighties starring James Bolam, which was about Bix Beiderbecke?  It was that show that really got me interested in early jazz music.  This album is, I believe, a US import, which I got second-hand at a record shop in Porthmadog back in the 80s.  What I think I like about jazz from this period of time is the influence of ragtime and the Charleston sound.  It makes the jazz very fresh and upbeat, which I find easy to listen to.

This track is a classic of these type of sound, in my view at least, and starts of with a good mix of brass instruments and percussion (I really like the cymbals).  The intricate little scales played during the track are also good, but it is the rhythm that I really like.

One comment on “Fav. Tracks: Bix Beiderbecke – Great Original Performances: 1924-1930

  1. Colin Derrick says:

    was one of the greatest white trumpet players who died far too young.a skilled composer too with Davenport Blues (his birthplace) my favourite track. Recording quality is pretty poor but I have some 20 versions of the track….my favourite being a modern version by Gil Evans. I have prepared my CD for my funeral service and it features this track! Morbid or what!!!! Colin Derrick

Leave a comment