Fav. Tracks: Blackmore’s Nights – Autumn Sky

Autumn Sky – Highland.

Somewhere between the 1990s and today I missed the information that Richie Blackmore, disenchanted with Deep Purple’s musical style, turned away from rock to pursue his interest in folk music and early minstrel style music in particular (quite a change in style).  A friend played me a track off on of Blackmore’s Nights’ albums and I was hooked!

The style is an interesting mixture of rock and folk with a tinge of Mike Oldfield style storylines and some riffs that might have interested people in the middle ages!  This track is more typical of the folk/rock style, but there are tracks that remind me of Amazing Blondel, with a huge influence from early musical styles.  Candice Night’s voice, quite beautiful in my opinion, is wonderfully illustrated in this track.

I think anyone who enjoys folk/rock will enjoy this music and I foresee myself buying a few more albums yet.

Leave a comment